top of page

I Don't Fear Bugs, I Eat Them....Sensbars, A New High Protein Snack?


I was given the opportunity to taste and review Sens Bars and I obviously jumped at the chance to try them!

Its one of the more unusual protein snacks I've tried in that the protein comes from cricket flour- which, in my mind is a lot better than eating a whole cricket.... but it still makes me shiver!

Its probably because day to day, I don't come across cricket flour or even make a point to eat insects.

Anyway, Sensbars contain about 200 calories per 50g bar and 300 ish for a 60g and claim to have the same quality protein as beef, chicken or fish AND carries more calcium, iron and vitamin B, it also contains Omega 3.

They're available in 4 flavours : Coconut and Pineapple, Peanut butter and cinnamon, Dark chocolate and Sesame and dark chocolate and orange.

As well as the amazing benefits, cricket flour is more sustainable with crickets needing 12x less feed, 15x less land, 2,000 x less water and produce 100x less greenhouse gasses.

So. On paper the product sounds amazing, so I was curious to know what it tasted like!

I don't know quite what i was expecting when I opened the bar, and honestly, I had to give myself a mini pep talk to do it, because, as I said, crickets make me shiver!

But, when I did get the wrapper off, I was actually pleasantly surprised, if you've ever had a Nakd bar, it looks just like that, except slightly fatter.

I tried the dark chocolate and orange flavour, which is a similar flavour to the choc orange Nakd bar, except this was sweeter, (never a bad thing) it tastes more like orange and the scent of the bar was making my mouth water!

I shared some of this with some workmates and they agreed it was delicious!

'I could eat one of these a day and not get bored!'- This was actually what one of them said!

I also shared the high protein bars with workmates and although the taste was lovely they found it quite dry, which again, not a bad thing as all these bars are made of are dates and nuts and maybe a little flavour oil or fruits.

Have I found a new snack bar to have instead of chocolate?

Maybe! I still need to get used to the fact that I'm eating bugs, BUT these bars may just win the unusual snack award for me!

The sample pack retails for £9.99 High protein bars are £29.99 for a box of 12

other bars are 23.99 for a box of 12

Check out their site here for more information.

Sample provided in exchange for a review.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page